Town Meeting—Update

Light Supper Available—The 4-H will sell hot dogs, goulash, popcorn, and cookies beginning at 5:30 p.m. Don’t forget we’re starting an hour earlier this year, at 6 PM. School items are up first, followed by town issues. The candidates for office are listed below, followed by statements from a few.

CANDIDATES FOR TOWN OFFICES

MODERATOR FOR 1 YEAR
Candidate: Will Stevens

TOWN CLERK FOR 1 YEAR
Candidate: Mary Jane James

TOWN TREASURER FOR 1 YEAR
TRUSTEE OF PUBLIC FUNDS

Candidate: Barbara Kivlin

SELECTPERSON FOR 3 YEARS
Candidates: Jeff Bronson, Marthe A. Fisher, Art Remick

SELECTPERSON FOR 2 YEARS
Candidates: Bob Growney, Robert Warren

SELECTPERSON FOR 1 YEAR
Candidates: Stephen Goodrich, Eric Leonard, Larry Provost, Paul Saenger, Philip Witteman

AUDITOR FOR 3 YEARS
Candidate: Judith Symon

AUDITOR FOR 2 YEARS
Candidate: Maureen Rahner

AUDITOR FOR 1 YEAR
Candidate: Robert W. Rahner

DELINQUENT TAX COLLECTOR
Candidate: William R. Telgen, Jr.

UD #3 SCHOOL DIRECTOR FOR 3 YEARS
Candidate: William F. O’Neill, Jr.

SCHOOL DIRECTOR FOR 3 YEARS
Candidate: Greg Mairs

SCHOOL DIRECTOR FOR 2 YEARS
Candidates: Natasha Causton, Peter Lynch

CONSTABLE FOR 1 YEAR
Candidate: Raymond Mason

LIBRARY TRUSTEE FOR 5 YEARS
Candidate: Joyce Morgan

LIBRARY TRUSTEE FOR 2 YEARS
Candidate: Molly Francis

PLANNING BOARD FOR 4 YEARS
Candidate: Joseph B. Hescock

LISTER FOR 3 YEARS
Candidate: Philip Kivlin

LISTER FOR 2 YEARS
Candidate: Richard M. Philip

WATER COMMISSIONER FOR 3 YEARS
Candidate: Larry Provost

TOWN AGENT FOR 1 YEAR
Candidate: Wesley Larrabee


Candidate Statements [Shoreham News, Winter 2006; L.Fitzsimmons]

Selectboard, 3 years
Marthe A. Fisher: A graduate of UVM, I was born and raised in Addison County. I have lived in Shoreham since 1974 and currently am employed as the Payroll Administrator at Porter Medical Center. I have an accounting, office management and human resource background and have worked for both not for profit and for profit organizations. I believe a select board should be forward thinking, fiscally responsible and responsive to the needs of the town. I feel that I have the qualifications to effectively serve the Town of Shoreham as a member of the Select Board.

Art Remick: I have served 2 terms as Shoreham Selectperson, 3 years as Shoreham Auditor, and currently am in my 3rd term as Justice of the Peace. For 10 years, I have run my own computer consulting business, and have over 35 years business experience. I currently serve on the Addison County Home Health and Hospice Board of Directors, and have volunteered over 18 years board experience, serving as board presidents, vice presidents, and treasurer. My wife, Charlene, is a Physical Therapist with ACHHH. Native Vermonters, Charlene and I moved to Shoreham in 1978 and have 3 children, Scott, Kathryn, and Kimberly.

Selectperson, 2 years
Robert Warren:
I have lived in Shoreham for fifty years. For the last three years I have served on the selectboard. i have served you I have served you in the past as a volunteer on the rescue squad, the fire department, and was the constable for thirty years. There re a lot of decisions to be made in the next few years. One of the biggest is the location f the town office. I believe that the sale of a couple building lots would bring in income as well as help the waste water plant and add to our tax list. I would like to be part of the final decisions. Please keep me in mind when voting.

Selectperson, 1 year
Stephen Goodrich:
I have enjoyed living in Shoreham for nineteen years. Ours is a supportive rural commmunity I would like to help maintain. I both work and live in this community and see the whole town each day through the windshield of my Explorer. As a selectboard member I would like to work to improve the conditions of our roads, the education of our children, and the development of town facilities, while practicing fiscal responsibility.

Eric Leonard: I have lived in Shoreham all my life. I have been married thirty years to my wife, Nicole. We have two sons and a beautiful granddaughter. I previously served on the selectboard from 1995–2000. I chaired Shoreham’s Wastewater task force to come up with a solution for our village’s wastewater problem. Acting as Shoreham’s representative I oversaw the successful completion of our new wastewater system on schedule and under budget. The system is a great asset to Shoreham. I also dealt with a town wide reappraisal which we are about to do again and dealt with scores of items that came before the Board. My family has served this community for over 50 years and I am ready to get back to work. I would appreciate your support on March 7.

Larry Provost: My roots start in Shoreham when my grandfather, Wilfred Brisson, moved here to farm in 1910. I was born in Vermont, grew up in Massachusetts, but spent summers on the farm in Shoreham. I returned to Vermont after my military duty in the 1960’s. I am a self-made business man for 40 years. Over the past 8 years I have served the town of Shoreham as the Tri-Town Water Commissioner (6 years), Waste Water Task Force (2 years), Waste Water Commissioner (5 years), and 3 terms elected to serve on the Selectboard. I would like to give my business experience and community dedication back to our town for another year and ask for your vote to serve a 4th term.

Paul F. Saenger: Rene and I own Cream Hill Farm on Basin Harbor Road. I have served as Town Auditor for several years and am familiar with town budgets. The Road Budget has been increasing at double-digit rates while road conditions worsen each year. Throwing more money at a broken process is a waste. The selectboard should have a sound road plan and give clear direction to the road crew. Money spent on additional equipment that sets in the Town garage will not improve roads. I appreciate your vote for a one-year position to the selectboard.

Philip Witteman: My family has lived in Shoreham since 1958. I was educated in Shoreham schools through my freshman year, when the high school closed, then graduated from MUHS. Most of my life I have resided in town. I am running for a Selectboard position to help maintain Shoreham’s heritage and a vibrant future. I am somewhat conservative, with a great respect for others’ ideas. I would appreciate your vote on election day.

Auditor, 3 Years
Judith Symon:
As a Shoreham resident with experience as an Office/Financial manager I was asked to fill one of the positions as Town Auditor during the year 2005–2006. I found this work to be enjoyable and fulfilling, and believe with the experience from this past year I would be an asset in this position in 2006–2009.

Auditor, 2 years
Maureen Rahner:
I moved to Shoreham with my husband, Bob, in 2002. My previous position was as an Office Manager for KV2 Corp. in NJ for 15 years, where I was responsible for all bookkeeping, payroll, and accounts. This experience affords me the ability to become an involved member of my new community by being a Town Auditor.

Auditor, 1 year
Robert W. Rahner: I retired from AT&T after 30 years, where I worked in a financial capacity, including Financial Auditing. I am currently the Treasurer of the Walker Grove Association, a small condo association in Sudbury. The position of Town Auditor will allow me to do some small part as an active resident of the Town of Shoreham.

Library
Molly Francis: I have lived in Shoreham for a little over two years now and in that time have seen how important it is for a small town to have community gathering places. The library is an integral part of Shoreham and I would like to help in any way I can to make it a better, bigger and more vibrant place for everyone to use. I grew up using libraries all the time and I am very committed to reading and the benefits that it can have.

School Director, 1 year
Greg Mairs: It is with pleasure that I offer my continued participation on the Shoreham School Board. As a parent of twin girls attending kindergarten, I find myself grateful for having been offered the opportunity to play an integral role in Shoreham’s educational processes. I bring to the Board over 15 years of experience in non-profit management, a proven track record in budgeting and finance, and strategic vision. My goal is to assist our community in translating educational theory into practice and mission into action. In doing so, I fully understand that we, as a Board, must develop sympathetic and innovative solutions to overcome the presented challenges.

School Director, 2 years
Natasha Causton: I am a graduate of Middlebury College and have been a Shoreham resident for almost three years. I have a Master’s Degree in Education and teach at the Community College in Middlebury. I am also the mother of two young boys. My goal, as a school board member, is to ensure the best education for our students, to increase the reputation of our elementary school, and to attract more young families to our town and school. By supporting the needs of our children, we will ensure the vitality of our town. I look forward to getting further input from community members.

Peter Lynch: Act 68 presents significant challenges for Shoreham. With one term as school director under my belt, broad experience in education, and recent experience n nonprofit management, I will continue to help Shoreham address the increasing challenge of balancing academic quality and fiscal responsibility. Shoreham School will need to make very difficult decisions in the near future, and School Directors must organize opportunities for feedback from residents. I thank the voters of Shoreham for the opportunity to serve these past two years. With your support, I look forward to confronting our school funding challenges head-on during the next two years.

Leave a Reply

